andy's php projects
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Script and site usage:
All of the scripts on this site are provided free for non-commerical, personal or non-profit use. If you find these scripts useful to you, appreciate the free support, or are just an all round nice person, then why not donate a little dosh? If you wish to use any of these in a commercial system, please refer to the payment plan.


Mozilla vs IE

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    php.amnuts.com Forum Index -> Crop Canvas
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
masterphoton
Newbie


Joined: 24 Feb 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2005 9:12 am    Post subject: Mozilla vs IE Reply with quote

Hello,
Thank you very much for inventing this script!

Now, the problem:
The class works just fine if I use mozilla or thunderbird or netscape navigator, but it crashes under IE...in the sense that it only displays the cropping area and not the image to be cropped, and the cropping area seems to stuck on the original position; the only movement it's capable of is around the top left corner of the cropping area (like if it were glue on the top left corner).

Anyone ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amnuts
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Sep 2002
Posts: 662
Location: East Sussex, England

PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2005 12:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi there, and welcome to the board!

Okay, I've noticed this happening sometimes if the interface is wrapped up in various other styles, div tags and such. Have you tried running the demo just as is? Or is that what you were doing? Also, what version of IE? Was it on a PC or Mac?

Andy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Slammer
Newbie


Joined: 06 Oct 2005
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same problem. It works perfectly fine in Firefox, but not in IE. I get to see the drag rectangle but not the image. And when I want to drag the thumbnail region it jumps outside the image borders.

I tried the original demo and that worked fine, so I'm afraid I have to look for the construction that ruins the cropping part.

Can the whole thing work when it is inserted in some table cell?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amnuts
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Sep 2002
Posts: 662
Location: East Sussex, England

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2005 5:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In theory it should work... After all, the cropping interface is already inside a table. Could be that you have various other CSS or javascript conflicts going on which are effecting the performance of the interface.

Andy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
surlychick73
Newbie


Joined: 28 May 2007
Posts: 1
Location: Sarasota, FL

PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2007 2:04 pm    Post subject: Same problem Reply with quote

Hi there. I am experiencing this same problem and am getting very frustrated. It works perfectly in Firefox but in IE, it's very wiggy.

I haven't messed with the CSS or anything that would make it do that. I can't see the original image when it comes up - only a white background. And then I see a small yellow line that apparently should be my crop window. When I click on it, it jumps. If I hold "shift" and click, it shows me the crop window, but then it jumps up to the left hand corner and I keep getting an error message that the debugger points to this line:

function cc_reposBackground()
{
xPos = (dd.elements.theCrop.x - dd.elements.theImage.x + 1);
yPos = (dd.elements.theCrop.y - dd.elements.theImage.y + 1);

if (document.getElementById) {
--->>> document.getElementById('theCrop').style.backgroundPosition = '-' + xPos + 'px -' + yPos + 'px';
} else if (document.all) {
document.all['theCrop'].style.backgroundPosition = '-' + xPos + 'px -' + yPos + 'px';
} else {
document.layers['theCrop'].backgroundPosition = '-' + xPos + 'px -' + yPos + 'px';
}
}

Any thoughts? Thanks so much for any help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amnuts
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Sep 2002
Posts: 662
Location: East Sussex, England

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 8:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi and welcome to the board!

The main reason why things mess up in IE is because the javascript function (as shown by the loadJavascript() method) is not the last bit of html/javascript before the closing body tag, but rather comes before, say, a chunk of footer html. So make sure that it is the last thing and try again - post up your results, or let me know if it is indeed the last thing on your page already. If you have a link to the site where cropping is that might also help (you can PM it to me if you'd prefer it be kept private).

Andy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    php.amnuts.com Forum Index -> Crop Canvas All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group