andy's php projects
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Script and site usage:
All of the scripts on this site are provided free for non-commerical, personal or non-profit use. If you find these scripts useful to you, appreciate the free support, or are just an all round nice person, then why not donate a little dosh? If you wish to use any of these in a commercial system, please refer to the payment plan.


Something seems to be missing

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    php.amnuts.com Forum Index -> Man Page Lookup
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dewed
Newbie


Joined: 11 Oct 2003
Posts: 1
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2003 12:49 pm    Post subject: Something seems to be missing Reply with quote

I was attempting to convert this for use on my site, possibly as a Xoops/phpnuke type module, but it seems I'm missing the apropos command so I get no results.

$man -k less
sh: /usr/bin/apropos: No such file or directory
Error executing formatting or display command.
System command /usr/bin/apropos less exited with status 32512.


The server I'm on is an ensim box and lacks many shell commands that I miss dearly, like which for example. Any ideas on getting it to work, possibly pre-populate the cache directory?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amnuts
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Sep 2002
Posts: 662
Location: East Sussex, England

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2003 3:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Dewed - welcome to the board!

That's a shame about the lack of shell functions, but you came up with probably the best solution for you - pre-populate the cache directory. The cache in the man page lookup is not time based - it's just either on or off. So you could effectively create the A-Z, ALPHA, NUM, OTHER, and ALL lists elsewhere and copy the cache files into the cache directory on your ensim box. However, obviously some man pages wont work because the not all the same functions/programs will neccessarily be available on both machines.

Andy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    php.amnuts.com Forum Index -> Man Page Lookup All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group